Why I Stopped Writing on Medium After Achieving Unbelievable Success

My WORST nightmare became a reality…

Shannon Piérre
4 min readAug 26, 2023
nightmare
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

It’s been a while since I wrote on this platform — 17 months, to be precise.

I stopped writing on Medium after receiving a high response to one of my most popular articles ever.

The problem was that most of the responses were negative. Or, I felt they were, at the time.

In reality, there were only 38 comments on the article.

How does Kim Kardashian do it?

For example, one commenter wondered how such a “benign and simplistic” article got 2.2 thousand claps.

I wondered the same.

In addition to the criticism, I also triggered something internally. A potential I had unknowingly warned myself about in a previous article.

Let me explain.

Why I Started Writing on Medium

Although writing is a creative outlet for me, I never thought of my hobby as a way to make a living.

I had previously scrolled through the rants of scorned writers, complaining that they had made literal pennies on this website despite having written numerous articles on the platform.

--

--

Shannon Piérre

Spiritual being who chose a human experience. Please subscribe to my Substack : https://substack.com/@shanecdote